Tales of Bangkok, Branson and Beatrice

May 31, 2010 at 7:17 am 1 comment


It’s a holiday weekend, so I’ll keep it brief this week. 

A couple of months ago, as a number of my SATW colleagues were literally in the air on their way to Bangkok with a stop in Dubai, I was on my way to Branson with a stop at the Osceola Cheese Store. 

File that under the category of “life’s not fair,” but I did have the wonderful opportunity to re-connect with two of my cousins and place a story on the front page today of the Dallas Morning News about the finer side of a visit to Branson. 

That was just a few weeks ago, but last June, I made a fun little trip to Beatrice Nebraska for Homesteader Days that takes place at a little unit of the National Park Service.  The place commemorates the Homestead Act that opened up much of the nation to the predominantly white Europeans who came to North America in search of free land. My great-grandfather was a homesteader in Grant County Arkansas, and a portion of that land remains in our family today. 

   Anyway, the story appeared this week in American Profile Magazine, so I hope you enjoy it and find your way some day to Beatrice Nebraska. 

  It’s not Bangkok, but hey, adventure is where you find it.  

Entering the museum over a field of poppies

   And since it’s Memorial Day weekend, my favorite place in Kansas City is the National World War I Museum at Liberty Memorial, where my Grandpa Eastman, who had a few adventures while marching across France, is among the many veterans remembered there this weekend. 

Have a safe holiday weekend!  

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Keep The Good Times Rolling in Louisiana Father’s Day Lessons

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. elaine warner  |  June 1, 2010 at 7:13 am

    Congrats on the DMN and the American Profile. I’ll watch for it.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Head Rites

What Day Is It? Where Am I?

May 2010
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other subscribers